Product: TIBCO Spotfire®
'Save' and 'Save As' buttons are disabled (grayed out), when trying to register a new Spotfire data function.
The 'Save' and 'Save As' buttons will be disabled (grayed out) whenever the user registers a new data function using an offline Spotfire desktop client session.
When the current Spotfire Analyst desktop client session is offline (not logged into a Spotfire Server instance), the Spotfire library will not be available for use with those buttons.
This is the expected behavior, because those two buttons are only useful when the Spotfire library is available.
Saving a data function to the Spotfire library on a Spotfire Server instance is a convenient way to make the data function available for insertion into other Spotfire analyses, but this is not a necessary step for its use in the Spotfire analysis where the data function was first defined.
To register a new data function, select "Edit > Data Function Properties" from the main menu.
On the "Data Function" tab in the "Data Function Properties" dialog, press the "Register New" button.
In the "Register Data Functions" dialog, both the "Save" button and the "Save As" button will be enabled if the Spotfire Analyst session is logged into Spotfire Server, but disabled (grayed out) if it is not logged in. (The buttons will always be disabled in the standalone Spotfire Desktop client, because it never connects to Spotfire Server.)
Those buttons provide a way to save a new data function into the Spotfire library. The Spotfire library is stored in Spotfire Server's housekeeping database, which is only available when a Spotfire Analyst desktop client is logged into Spotfire Server.
When the data function has been registered and run, it will be embedded in the Spotfire analysis (DXP file) without any need to use the "Register Data Functions" dialog's 'Save' or 'Save As' buttons.